Oxspring Pictures

Oxspring - the name probably comes from (celtic) uks, usc meaning water or river and (old English) spring. It is mentioned in the Domesday Book and its coat of arms has three bells.

The first picture is Oxspring viaduct, which lies above Winterbottom's wire mill. The wire mill has been in operation since 1888 and had a water wheel until 1958. The spring after which the village is named is on the approach lane to the works, near the viaduct. No sign of an ox anywhere, though.

Oxspring Viaduct

Oxspring sign - not linked

Village sign on the Penistone side.

Oxspring hump bridge

Oxspring's hump bridge is no longer in use, after the road up Bower Hill was straightened in the 1970s. 'Tracky' bus drivers used to delight in taking the bridge too quickly, to launch the back seat passengers into the air to experience zero gravity. Our thrills were much simpler in those days.


Back Top Home   Dorothy Parker: “A sure cure for seasickness is to sit under a tree.”